

For Immediate Release January 28, 2019

Texas K-12 CTO Council Announces 2018-19 Award Winners Dr. Jose Espinoza Receives Savvy Superintendent Award

Austin, TX—The Texas K-12 CTO Council has announced that Dr. Jose Espinoza, Superintendent of Socorro ISD; Frankie Jackson, Chief Technology Officer at Cypress-Fairbanks ISD; student Emily Austin of Northwest ISD; and the Austin ISD school district are the winners of their annual awards. Established in 2008, the CTO Council Awards are a series of prizes recognizing individuals and school districts that demonstrate outstanding vision in the use of information technologies to improve student learning.

Dr. Jose Espinoza, Superintendent of Socorro ISD, is the recipient of the Tech Savvy Superintendent Award. Each year, the Council selects a superintendent who has promoted and supported innovative uses of technology in their district. The award considers categories of leadership, innovative projects, collaboration, and district awards and recognitions. SISD remains at the forefront of twenty-first century education and the conversion to digital learning. Dr. Espinoza has increased access to technology in order to break down barriers, close the digital divide, and level the playing field for all students regardless of their economic status. The district's technology initiatives enhance students' critical thinking skills, creativity, collaboration, and, ultimately, prepare all students to succeed in our fast-paced, ever-changing, high-tech society.

Frankie Jackson, Chief Technology Officer at Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, is the recipient of the Grace Hopper Award. After careers with NASA and Goose Creek ISD, Jackson joined Cypress-Fairbanks ISD in August 2014, and brought strategic leadership to the forefront of the Technology Services Department. Jackson oversaw the creation and implementation of the 2014 Technology Bond, the initiatives of which spanned the entire scope of the network from a complete core refresh, to the replacement of aged desktop and laptop devices, to hotspot devices for student home use. Jackson also created a cross-training initiative to support high-level professional development for employees throughout the department.

Emily Austin of Northwest ISD is the inaugural winner of the Texas CTO Council's \$1,000 Student Scholarship. To be considered for the award, high school seniors submitted applications detailing their plans to pursue post-secondary education in the education or

technology professions, along with letters of recommendation. Austin plans to attend Dallas Baptist University next year and major in education.

Austin ISD led by Kevin Schwartz, Technology Officer for Learning and Systems, is the recipient of the CTO Council's TEAM Award winner. The Austin ISD Technology leadership team has built an engine of innovation through the purposeful work of 160+ team members within the department and extensive cross-functional teaming with other departments to fuel the district's efforts to reinvent the urban education experience. The four core teams, MIS, Technical Support, Network Systems Support, and Technology Design Coaches, work with the Technology Officer for Learning and Systems to provide a wholistic approach that addresses equity, access, blended learning, and attendance, with robust networks, advanced data warehousing and analytics, a unique coaching team, ubiquitous devices, and partnerships.

About the Texas K-12 CTO Council

The <u>Texas K-12 CTO Council</u> is the state chapter of the Consortium of School Networking [<u>CoSN</u>] and the premier organization for chief technology officers in Texas schools. The purpose of the organization is to assist Texas K-12 school districts in understanding how to plan for the use and successful implementation of information technology in Texas schools and advocate for districts' technology needs to improve student learning.